The Moscow Conservatory Choir

Kalinin
Art Director & Conductor:
Honored Art Worker of Russia, Honored Artist of the RSFSR
Professor
Stanislav Kalinin

The first public appearances of the members of the Conservatory choir class took place in 1924. The class was then being trained by the choral masters M. Ippolitov-Ivanov and K. Saradzhev. Its performances featured “Jesus Navin” and  “Sennaherib’s defeat”, the choruses by M. Mussorgsky.

In different years the choir has been headed by different brilliant conductors, such as P. Tchesnokov, G. Dmitrievsky, V. Mukhin, K. Lebedev, V. Sokolov and B. Lyashko. In 1979 the Moscow Conservatory students choir had been taken over by B. Tevlin who remained its principal conductor until 1991. Under his guidance the choir began to give concerts extensively in our country and abroad, namely in Hungary, Germany, Poland and France, featuring monographic programs like The twelve choruses’ by S. Taneev to the texts of Y. Polonsky, “The Ten Choral Poems” by D. Shostakovich and symphonic choruses by M. Mussorgsky, alongside the choral works by R. Shchedrin. It was always a great success.

Among those who collaborated with the choir were such famous conductors as G. Rozhdestvensky, V. Ashkenazi, V. Sinaisky, K. Abbado, K. Areng, V. Pon’kin and A. Mustonen.

In the period of 1991 – 1995 the choir’s main conductor was prof. B. Lyashko. As examples of his major projects may be called “John Damaskin” cantata by S. Taneev, “German requiem” by J. Brahms and G. Verdi’s “Te Deum”.

From 1996 the choir’s principal has been prof. S. Kalinin, Choral conductors’ faculty dean. In the recent years the choir have learned and performed under him a massive repertoir representing the world musical culture, like the Ninth Symphony by L. van Beethoven and The Mess by J. S. Bach in H minor, F. Mendelssohn’s oratorio “Elijah” and B. Britten’s cantata “Saint Nicolas”, messes by J. Haydn, “The Roman Mess” by D. Pergolesi, “The Psalm Symphony” by I. Stravinsky and V. Silvestrov’s “Requiem”. The choir got a high esteem of G. Rozhdestvensky who led it for F. Mendelssohn’s oratorio and J. Haydn’s mess.

One of the major fields of attention remains Russian classical a capella music both from P. I. Tchaikovsky’s oevre and from the other composers like S. Taneev, N. Rimsky-Korsakov, A. Grechaninov, A. Kastalsky and P. Tchesnokov. Another important sfere make the works by contemporary composers, such as N. Sidelnikov, R .Ledenev, R. Shchedrin, A. Shnitke, V. Kikta, Y. Butsko and some others. Under S. Kalinin, this singing ensemble has given world premieres of some big vocal and instrumental compositions by Y. Butsko (Pesnoslov-cantata, Liturgical singing), by N. Sidelnikov (“The Poet’s death” oratorio and “Sichuan elegies”). In 2009 the choir appeared with the programs dedicated to the anniversaries of the great Russian composers N. Rimsky-Korsakov (165th anniversary) and M. Mussorgsky (170th anniversary).

The Students’ choir is a permanent participant of national and international music festivals, such as “The Moscow Autumn”, “The Soul of Japan”, “Commemoration of Igor Stravinsky” and others. The choir is a regular participant of the International Music festival “The Spring of April”,  where it more than once earned Grand Prix for its high level performance. This was also the case in 2003, when the choir won seven golden medals at this festival in addition to Grand Prix. In 2006 the choir made part of the numerous delegation of the Moscow Conservatory students participating in the festival and again received its main award.

In 2007 the choir entered the festival of sacred music “Magutny Bozha” (Mogilev, Belarus). A year later in November 2008 it toured the USA, offering a Russian music program alongside the performance of K.Orff’s cantata “Carmina Burana”.

Хор Московской консерватории

Уже в 1924 г. состоялись первые выступления хорового класса консерватории под руководством дирижеров М. М. Ипполитова-Иванова и К. С. Сараджева. В программу вошли хоры М. Мусоргского «Иисус Навин» и «Поражение Сеннахериба». В разные времена хором руководила целая плеяда блестящих хормейстеров, таких, как П. Чесноков, Г. Дмитриевский, В. Мухин, К. Лебедев, В. Соколов, Б. Ляшко. В 1979–1991 гг. хор студентов Московской консерватории возглавлял Б. Тевлин. Под его управлением впервые началась широкая концертная деятельность коллектива в стране и за рубежом – в Венгрии, Германии, Польше, Франции. Значительным успехом этих лет стало исполнение монографических программ: «Двенадцать хоров» С. Танеева на стихи Я. Полонского, «Десять хоровых поэм» Д. Шостаковича, симфонические хоры М. Мусоргского, антологии хоровых сочинений Р. Щедрина.

В разные годы с хором сотрудничали такие известные дирижеры, как Г. Рождественский, В. Ашкенази, В. Синайский, К. Аббадо, К. Аренг, В. Понькин, А. Мустонен.

В 1991-1995 гг. хором руководил профессор Б. Ляшко. Из крупных работ Б. Ляшко с хором следует отметить кантату «Иоанн Дамаскин» С. Танеева, «Немецкий реквием» Й. Брамса, «Te Deum» Дж. Верди.

С 1996 г. хор возглавляет декан дирижерского факультета, профессор С. С. Калинин. Под его руководством только за последние годы хор подготовил и исполнил многие выдающиеся произведения мировой музыкальной культуры: Девятая симфония Л. Бетховена и Месса h-moll И. С. Баха, оратория Ф. Мендельсона «Илия», кантата Б. Бриттена «Святой Николай», мессы Й. Гайдна, «Римская месса» Д. Перголези, «Симфония псалмов» И. Стравинского, «Реквием» В. Сильвестрова. Дирижировавший исполнением оратории Ф. Мендельсона и мессы Й. Гайдна Г. Рождественский дал хору наивысшую оценку.

Важнейшим направлением в работе хора остается и исполнение русской хоровой классики a cappella — произведений П. Чайковского, С. Танеева, Н. Римского-Корсакова, А. Гречанинова, А. Кастальского, П. Чеснокова, а также сочинений современных композиторов — Н. Сидельникова, Р. Леденева, Р. Щедрина, А. Шнитке, В. Кикты, Ю. Буцко. Под управлением С. Калинина коллектив осуществил мировые премьеры крупных вокально-инструментальных сочинений Ю. Буцко (кантаты «Песнослов», «Литургическое песнопение»), Н. Сидельникова (оратория «Смерть поэта», кантата «Сычуанские элегии»). В 2009 году хор исполнил программы к юбилеям великих русских композиторов: Н. А. Римского-Корсакова (165 лет со дня рождения) и М. П. Мусоргского (170 лет со дня рождения).

Хор студентов консерватории — постоянный участник многих отечественных и международных музыкальных фестивалей, таких как «Московская осень», «Душа Японии», «Памяти Игоря Стравинского» и других. Сентябрь 2003 г. отмечен большим событием в жизни Московской консерватории и хора. В Большом зале состоялся концерт хора, посвященный 80-летнему юбилею создания факультета. Это был первый опыт кафедрального мастер-класса, где в качестве дирижеров выступили педагоги: профессора И. Г. Агафонников, С. С. Калинин, Л. З. Конторович, С. М. Лыков, Б. Г. Тевлин, доценты В. А. Калинин, В. В. Контарев, Н. П. Королёва, А. М. Рудневский.

Хор неоднократно приглашался на Международный музыкальный фестиваль «Апрельская весна», где неизменно завоевывал «Гран-при» за высокое исполнительское искусство. В 2003 г. на этом фестивале коллектив завоевал Гран-при и был отмечен семью золотыми наградами в разных номинациях. В 2006 г. Хор в составе большой и представительной делегации студентов Московской консерватории вновь награжден наивысшей наградой «Апрельского фестиваля» — Гран-при.

В 2007 г. Хор участвовал в Фестивале духовной музыки «Магутны Божа» (Могилев, Белоруссия). В ноябре 2008 года хор выступал в США с программой русской музыки и исполнением кантаты К. Орфа «Carmina Burana».

Все события»